Thursday 13 October 2011

Women's football celebrates 2011

The 13th Annual FA Women’s Awards took place today at the prestigious central London venue, The HAC.

Club officials, players and dignitaries from the world of women’s football all gathered to honor those who have made the biggest impact in the game in 2011 capping off what has been a huge year for the sport with the launch of the WSL, England’s World Cup campaign in Germany and the UEFA Champions League Final taking place at Craven Cottage.

Among those who picked up awards was Birmingham and England forward Rachel Williams who was voted Player of the Year by her peers to add to her FAWSL Top goal-scorer award.

International honors went to Everton’s Jill Scott, who was singled out by her England team-mates for her international performances this year including a superb World Cup in Germany this summer.

Sue Hough, Chair of the Women’s Committee, said the awards highlighted the huge steps the Women’s game has taken in 2011:

“2011 has been a break-out year for the women’s game in England. We’ve seen a hugely successful opening season of the WSL which has exceeded our greatest expectations, England’s performance in Germany really inspired a new generation of fans and we also had the Women’s Champions League Final at Fulham which was a great occasion for everyone connected with the sport. The awards today recognize the wonderful work done by so many people this year and it should be a great day for women’s football.”

Full List of Winners:

Top Goal Scorer – FA Women’s Premier League
Gemma Bryne, Charlton Athletic LFC

Top Goal Scorer – FA WSL
Rachel Williams, Birmingham

Young Player of the Year
Gemma Rose, Bristol Academy WFC

Digital Award
Gillingham LFC

FA Club of the Year
Bristol Academy WFC

Coach of the Year – FA Women’s Premier League

Mick Mulhern, Sunderland WFC

Coach of the Year – WSL

Laura Harvey, Arsenal LFC

International Player of the Year

Jill Scott, Everton LFC

Players’ Player of the Year

Rachel Williams, Birmingham City LFC

Special Achievement Award
Fay Glover, Nottingham Forest LFC

Goal of the Year

Jemma Rose, Bristol Academy WFC

Save of the Year

Siobhan Chamberlain, Bristol Academy WFC

Fan of the Year

Lisa Paterson-Sleep, Sam Paterson-Sleep

FA WSL All Star Team

Siobhan Chamberlain, Bristol Academy WFC

Sophie Bradley, Lincoln LFC

Casey Stoney, Lincoln LFC

Kerys Haropp, Birmingham LFC

Laura Basett, Birmingham LFC

Jo Potter, Birmingham LFC

Katie Chapman, Arsenal LFC

Kim Little, Arsenal LFC

Jess Fishlock, Bristol Academy WFC

Rachel Williams, Birmingham LFC

Natasha Dowie, Everton LFC


Congratulations to all the winners. You can see a mini review of the season by clicking the above video.





Pos Teams P GD Pts
1 Manchester City Women FC 16 34 38
2 Arsenal Women 14 42 36
3 Chelsea FC Women 16 19 32
4 Birmingham City Women FC 15 6 28
5 Bristol City Women FC 15 -9 22
6 West Ham United Women FC 15 -7 19
7 Reading FC Women 14 -1 18
8 Liverpool FC Women 14 -11 16
9 Brighton & Hove Albion Women FC 16 -21 12
10 Everton Ladies FC 13 -18 6
11 Yeovil Town Ladies FC 14 -34 3
Pos Teams P GD Pts
1 Tottenham Hotspur Ladies FC 15 19 39
2 Manchester United Women FC 13 59 34
3 Durham Women FC 14 21 29
4 Charlton Athletic Women FC 14 19 29
5 London Bees FC 16 -16 21
6 Leicester City Women FC 16 -7 20
7 Aston Villa Ladies FC 14 -10 17
8 Sheffield United Women FC 13 -13 13
9 Lewes FC Women 15 -17 13
10 Crystal Palace Ladies FC 16 -18 10
11 Millwall Lionesses FC 14 -37 5